Day 20/90 – 14 April 2016 (Thursday)

I first arrived at Wakayama prefecture like a blur sotong 🐙 as I didn’t have the time to decipher the local bus timetables I found online beforehand. I was lucky that my Airbnb stay in the Wakayama prefecture included free transportation to Daimon-zaka, an impressive cobblestone staircase slope which runs from the base of the valley to Kumano Nachi Grand Shrine, Nachisan Seiganto-ji Temple, Three-Story Pagoda and Nachi Waterfall. From Daimon-zaka, I walked to the four attractions. My solo tour (see Nachisan Sightseeing Map for details) takes me about 3 hours. If you have insufficient time and/or energy, the tour is excellent in experiencing a short walk on the Kumano Kodo Pilgrimage Routes.

Only two pilgrimage routes that span several hundred kilometres in distance are registered in the World Heritage! They are Way of St. James (in Spain) and Kumano Kodo. Kumano Kodo Pilgrimage Routes “date back more than a thousand years when imperials and aristocrats took WEEKS-LONG 😱 journeys from as far away as Kyoto to hit up the Kumano Nachi Grand Shrine, Kumano Hongu Grand Shrine, and Kumano Hayatama Grand Shrine”.

The cobblestone staircase is uneven, and maybe slippery, from what I remember. I looked down while walking to ensure I will not slip. I think I had a small slip for at least a time. I was wondering how the servants behaved when they were carrying their masters on the sedan. LOL? The imperials and aristocrats may have walked on their own to show sincerity lah 😆

I think the time was already close to 3pm when I was in Daimon-zaka Teahouse asking the obaachan about the details of renting a Heian period kimono. I can’t remember the details clearly. I think there are two rental choices, 1 hour and 1.5 hours costs at ¥2,500 and ¥3,000 respectively. The latest return time should be 4pm. Since the tour takes about 3 hours, I can’t return the kimono by 4pm. Therefore, I completed the tour in my clothes. 😢

img_90941

I visited Kumano Nachi Grand Shrine on 14 April because I came across a website that mentions the shrine will have the 🌸Cherry Blossom🌸 Festival. However, I don’t see the festival going on, 😢 maybe because I arrived too late.

If my first train had stopped at platform 12 instead of platform 13, I wouldn’t have missed my second train which will depart at platform 11! 😡 Though I only got a minute to switch train from platform 12 to platform 11 at Shin-Ōsaka Station, I think I can catch my second train. Platforms 11 and 12 are not separated by railroad track or platform. I just need to walk across to platform 11 from platform 12. My first train stopped at platform 13 instead of platform 12, so I waited 1.5 hours for my second train at platform 11! 😡 Anyway, I find writing the train routes on a piece of paper and study it beforehand is quite useful. After one of my third Airbnb hosts taught me that, I always do it. An Australian guy thought I was going to draw after he saw me with a pen and a piece of paper. 😂

Back to sharing the few attractions and “tada” photos!

NACHI WATERFALL! The tallest waterfall in Japan and can be seen from far out on the Pacific Ocean! The most magnificent waterfall I have visited so far.

The falling water hits on the rock till I felt a heavy water mist and the wind was blowing. I felt cold as though I was in a room with an air-con switched on. Upon experiencing the natural air-con, I hope to visit Nachi Waterfall again and I did! However, I was disappointed. 😢 I don’t even feel a hint of magnificence when I was standing in front of the Nachi Waterfall the second time.

I find the brown sugar ice-cream is sweet, but not greasy, and it’s worth trying. I tried different flavours of ice-cream frequently in Japan. I had vanilla ice-cream mixed with green tea powder and red bean on the same day. 🐷🐽

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

